Arkansas Chapter of American Society of Landscape Architects serves to support the profession of landscape architecture in the state and region.



Welcome to the Arkansas Chapter of ASLA.  Learn about Chapter activities: news, awards, professional standards, licensure information, past issues of newsletters and other pertinent documents, as well as complete Chapter contact information. In the fall of 2012 Arkansas ASLA became associated with Central States ASLA providing additional networking and educational opportunities to those in the practice of landscape architecture in Arkansas. 


Landscape architecture encompasses the analysis, planning, design, management, and stewardship of the natural and built environments. Types of projects include: residential; parks and recreation; monuments; urban design; streetscapes and public spaces; transportation corridors and facilities; gardens and arboreta; security design; hospitality and resorts; institutional; academic campuses; therapeutic gardens; historic preservation and restoration; reclamation; conservation; corporate and commercial; landscape art and earth sculpture; interior landscapes; and more. Landscape architects have advanced education and professional training and are licensed in 50 states.

Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects is the national professional association representing landscape architects. Beginning with 11 original members, ASLA has grown to more than 18,000 members and 48 chapters, representing all 50 states, US territories, and 42 countries around the world. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication, and fellowship. 


  • President: John J. Scott

  • President Elect: John J. Scott

  • Past President: Charles "Chip" Ashley

  • Chapter Trustee: Melissa Evans

  • Secretary: Hillary Ramsay

  • Treasurer: Chris Bakunas

  • 1st Member-at-Large: Julie Luther

  • 2nd Member-at-Large: Alison Jumper

  • *Public Awareness: Rick McGraw

  • *Education: Melissa Evans

  • *Government Affairs: Charles "Chip" Ashley

  • *Student Chapter Faculty Representative: Jim Coffman

  • *Student Chapter President: Jacob Costello

  • *Student Chapter VP: Beau Burris

*Non Voting Members of the Executive Committee